EXCLUSIVE: Africa begins quest to end World Cup drought

EXCLUSIVE: Africa begins quest to end World Cup drought

FIFA World Cup Russia 2018

MOSCOW, (CAJ News) EGYPT, Morocco and Nigeria will be in action this week in the Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA) World Cup 2018 in Russia as the continent begins its quest to produce a winner.

No African team has ever won the tournament since its inception in 1930.

On Friday, Egypt will play Uruguay at the Ekaterinburg Arena in Ekaterinburg.

That match kicks off at 14h00 Egyptian time.

Morocco will follow suit against Iran at Saint Petersburg Stadium in Russia’s second largest city.

Kickoff is at 17h00 Moroccan time.

On Saturday, Nigeria locks horns with Croatia at the Kaliningrad Stadium
in Kaliningrad at 21h00 West African time.

Fellow African nations Senegal and Tunisia resume their campaigns next week.

The FIFA World Cup kicks off on Thursday with host nation Russia playing the inaugural match against Saudi Arabia at 17h00.

On Sunday, Group E matches pit Costa Rica and Serbia at Samara Arena in Samara, and five-time FIFA World Cup champions Brazil play against Switzerland at the Rostov Arena in Rostov-On-Don.

Brazil won the 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002 FIFA World Cup tournaments.

Four-time winners and defending champions, Germany (1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014), clash with Mexico at Luzhniki Stadium in the capital Moscow.

The Germany / Mexico match kicks off at 17h00 on Sunday.

On Monday, Tunisia will play England at Volgograd Arena in Volgograd. The encounter kicks off at 20h00.

Other matches set for Monday include the encounter between Sweden and Korea Republic at Nizhny Novgorod Stadium in Nizhny Novgorod (14h00). Dark horses Belgium and Panama complete the Monday clashes at Fisht Stadium in Sochi.

Senegal, quarterfinalists in 2002, completes Africa’s representatives on
Tuesday when they play against Poland at 17h00hrs.

Argentina (1978 and 1986), England (1966), France (1998), Italy (1934,
1938, 1982, 2006) Spain (2010) and Uruguay (1930, 1950) are other previous winners of the FIFA World Cup tournaments.

Full fixture for this week.

Thursday, 14th June
Russia Vs Saudi Arabia (Moscow, 17:00hrs)

Friday, 15th June
Egypt vs Uruguay (Ekaterinburg Arena, Ekaterinburg, 14:00hrs)

Morocco Vs Iran (Saint Petersburg Stadium, St. Petersburg, 17:00hrs)

Group B
Portugal vs Spain (Fisht Stadium, Sochi, 20:00hrs)

Saturday, 16th June
France Vs Australia (Kazan Arena, Kazan, 12:00hrs)

Argentina Vs Iceland (Spartak Stadium, Moscow, 15:00hrs)

Croatia Vs Nigeria (Kaliningrad Stadium, Kaliningrad 21:00hrs)

16 Jun 2018
Peru vs Denmark (Mordovia Arena, Saransk, 18:00hrs)

Sunday 17 June
Costa Rica vs Serbia (Samara Arena, Samara, 14:00hrs)

Brazil vs Switzerland (Rostov Arena, Rostov-On-Don, 20:00hrs)

Germany vs Mexico (Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, 17:00hrs)

Monday 18 June
Sweden vs Korea Republic (Nizhny Novgorod Stadium, Nizhny Novgorod, 14:00hrs)

Belgium vs Panama (Fisht Stadium, Sochi, 17:00hrs)

Tunisia vs England (Volgograd Arena, Volgograd, 20:00hrs)

– CAJ News










Share your thoughts