Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/cajnewsco/public_html/wp-content/themes/newscore/includes/functions/theme-images.php on line 149

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type bool in /home/cajnewsco/public_html/wp-content/themes/newscore/includes/functions/theme-images.php on line 150
Tight contest for Ramaphosa, Dlamini-Zuma

Tight contest for Ramaphosa, Dlamini-Zuma

Cyril Ramaphosa leads Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma battles for the ANC’s presidency

from AKANI CHAUKE in Johannesburg, South Africa
JOHANNESBURG, (CAJ News) – THE race for the African National Congress (ANC) presidency between deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa and former African Union Commission (AUC) chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma is set to go down to the wire.

Results will be known by Monday morning.

At the time of going to press on Sunday, Ramaphosa was leading the race with 1469 branch nominations against close rival Dlamini-Zuma with 1094 nominations from six provinces.

Both Ramaphosa and Dlamini-Zuma had accepted their nomination for the ANC presidency.

While Ramaphosa and Dlamini-Zuma were vying for the top ANC post, the race for deputy president was between Mpumalanga provincial chairperson David Mabuza who polled 1128 nominations against Lindiwe Sisulu’s 619.

On the position for treasurer-general, the incumbent Zweli Mkhize withdrew paving way for two contestants Senzo Mchunu, who is the chairperson of KwaZulu Natal against Free State provincial premier Ace Magashule.

Mkhize was leading with 1479 branch nominations against Magashule’s 930 nominations.

Gwede Mantashe, who is vying for the ANC chairmanship was leading his rival Nathi Mthethwa with 1499 branch nominations.

Alliance partner from labour, Cosatu’s second deputy president Zingiswa Losi was battling out with incumbent deputy secretary-general Jessie Duarte for the title.

Duarte was leading the contest with 845 branch nominations against Losi’s 361 nominations.

For the position of treasurer-general were ANC Gauteng provincial chairman Paul Mashatile against international relations minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane.

Mashatile was leading the race with 1581 branch nominations against Nkoana-Mashabane, who had less than 1,000 at the time of going to press.

ANC spokesman, Zizi Kodwa said the voting for the top six would take place Sunday mid night while counting process would continue during the night with the winner being announced before 09:00am on Monday.

– CAJ News





Share your thoughts